Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) and Answers from Cantor’s Driving School
Do I have to to come to your office for lessons?
No. Our instructors come to you. We offer pick up and drop off from home, school or work.
Are there other students in the car while I’m getting a driving lesson?
Absolutely not. All training is one-on one-instruction – one student with one instructor.
What car is used for driver training lessons?
All training is done in a Cantor’s Driving School car that is equipped with a brake and rear view mirror on the instructor’s side.
Are Cantor’s Driving School cars marked and labeled?
Yes, Cantor’s Driving School cars have “STUDENT DRIVER” on each side of the car as well as in the back of the car.
Are the training vehicles fully insured and licensed?
Yes. We have the required insurance to be compliant with state laws.
Who can ride along in the car during the lesson?
Parents, guardians, and language facilitators may ride along in the backseat as long as they are quiet. We do not allow siblings to ride along for the lesson.
What should I bring and wear for my lesson?
The student must have their learner’s permit with them and wear closed toe shoes. Sunglasses are recommended but not required.
Can I bring my cell phone?
Yes, you can bring your cell phone with you for the lesson as long as it is on silent.
Can the student take a break during the lesson?
Yes, students can take breaks during the lesson to use the restroom or stretch.
Do I get a certificate after training is done to help save on car insurance?
Yes, all students that complete a minimum of 6 hours of training receive a certificate of completion.
Are all instructors state-certified and background checked?
Absolutely! All instructors go through a rigorous process that includes an extensive background check, testing, and state certification.
Is Cantor’s Driving School a certified driving school?
Yes, Cantor’s Driving School is a certified driving school. Our Florida driving school license number is 4032.
Are female instructors available?
Yes, female instructors are available.
Can I use the Cantor’s Driving School car for the state driver’s exam?
Yes. All Plus Packages include having Cantor’s Driving School schedule the exam and accompany student to the road test location in a Cantor’s Driving School car.
Do you offer the driver’s road test?
Yes, Cantor’s Driving School is a third-party testing center approved by the state of Florida. The road test is done in a Cantor’s car and you can call to schedule an appointment.
What is a third-party road test provider?
As a third party provider, Cantor’s Driving School is certified by the state of Florida to administer the driving test. Cantor’s Driving School has also paired with other third-party testing schools to administer the driving test in both Miami-Dade county and Martin/St. Lucie/Indian River counties.
How quickly can I schedule a driver’s road test at Cantor’s office?
Driving tests at Cantor’s can typically be scheduled within 1 to 2 days.
How quickly can I schedule a driving test at the Florida DHSMV?
Florida DHSMV road test service centers are often booked out 6 to 8 weeks for driving tests.
What happens if I am 15 minutes late to the session?
You must contact the instructor or the office. The time of the lesson will still end at assigned time and the late time missed is not made up.
Do you have a rescheduling policy?
Yes – all lessons must be rescheduled with a minimum 24 hour notice.
What is your cancellation policy
Any cancellations with less than 24 hours notice or appointment no-shows are subject to an $80 cancellation fee.
I’m over 18 . Do I still need a learner’s/instruction permit to take lessons?
Yes. Everyone must have a valid learner’s permit to take training.
What are the requirements to get a learner’s permit / instruction permit?
Go to the Resources page and these requirements / laws are described there.
What is required during the Florida driver’s road test?
The following maneuvers will be performed during the driving test: three point turn, yield right-of-way, straight-in parking, questions about parking on a grade, quick stop, backing up 50 feet, obeying stop signs and traffic signals, signaling and turning, passing, staying in proper lane, following at a safe distance, and using proper posture. There is no parallel parking on the road test. View further explanations of these maneuvers.
How are payments made?
Payments can be made via credit card online through this website or over the phone with one of our representatives.
What forms of payment are accepted?
We accept Visa, MasterCard, and Discover credit and debit cards. We do not accept American Express. We do not accept checks or cash.
Do you have payment plans?
No, we do not have payment plans but we do offer individual lessons.
What happens if I need additional lessons?
If you need additional lessons, you can purchase the lessons at a prorated rate once you have completed a package. Please call the office to get the prorated rates.
What discounts do you offer?
Cantor’s Driving School offers discounts for siblings, law enforcement, military, and first responders. In order to get the discount, please call to make payment.
Do I get confirmations for appointments?
Yes, you will receive an email a few days prior to confirm. If not, you will receive a call to confirm the lesson. If you miss the call or are unable to answer, we will leave a voicemail.
What is Cantor’s Driving School service area?
View service area map.
Are driving lessons given on the highway?
Yes, Cantor’s can take students to practice on both I-95 and on the Florida Turnpike as long as the instructor feels they are ready.
Do I tip the driving instructor?
It is not necessary but is totally up to your discretion.
What are the time slots for driving lessons?
Driving lessons on Monday to Friday are typically from 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM, 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM, and 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM. Driving lessons on the weekends are typically from 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM, 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM, and 3:00 PM to 5:00 PM.