Now Offering Parallel Parking Lessons - Click Here to More Info

Driver Resources

Driver Resources

Table of Contents

 


Florida Learners Permit Restrictions and Requirements

- Information about Florida Licensing Requirements for Learners Permits and Graduated Driver Licensing is available from this page on the Florida DHSMV website.


 

Day-of-Test Requirements for Florida Driving Test

Don't fail your test before you even start driving. Make sure you are prepared before you arrive to take your driver's license test. There are different requirements depending on your age and who accompanies you to the test.

Sample Florida Driver LicenseThe first thing to check is your learners permit to see if it has the gold star (as shown above the arrow on this sample driver license). That star indicates that all your identification information is on file with the Florida DHSMV. If your learners permit has the gold star, you are not required to bring your birth certificate/passport, social security proof, or proof of residential address unless you are changing the address from what is shown on the permit. For more information about this, check Florida's documentation requirements for residents renewing or obtaining a new driver license or identification card on this website: www.GatherGetGo.com.

For Palm Beach County residents, there is also a $6.75 fee to take the driver test that must be paid by the driver being tested.

Under 18, With Cantor's Instructor Under 18, With Parent
If you are under 18 years old and are accompanied to your test with a Cantor's Driving School Instructor, you must bring the following:
  • Your learners permit (original)
  • Identification - Bring your birth certificate or United States Passport. If you do not have your original birth certificate (a copy is not acceptable) then you may bring a certified copy of your birth certificate issued by the state where you were born
  • Proof of Social Security Number - Bring your original social security card or a W-2 showing your social security number
  • Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor - A parent, legal guardian or responsible adult must sign this form and have it notarized, which vouches for your driving experience, stating that you have driven a minimum of 50 hours during the past 12 months, of which 10 hours of driving were at night per Section 322.05(3), Florida Statutes.
  • Driving School Contract - Cantor's Driving School provides this document for students using Cantor's Day-of-Test service
  • Proof of Residential Address such as your home utility bill, cable bill, home telephone bill, etc.If your address has changed from the address on your learners permit, you must complete this Certification of Address form.
  • Note: Cantor's Driving School is a notary public and provides free notary services for customers.
If you are under 18 years old and are accompanied to your test with your Parent/Guaridan, you must bring the following:
  • Your learners permit (original)
  • Identification - Bring your birth certificate or United States Passport. If you do not have your original birth certificate (a copy is not acceptable) then you may bring a certified copy of your birth certificate issued by the state where you were born
  • Proof of Social Security Number - Bring your original social security card or a W-2 showing your social security number
  • Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor - A parent, legal guardian or responsible adult must sign this form and have it notarized, which vouches for your driving experience, stating that you have driven a minimum of 50 hours during the past 12 months, of which 10 hours of driving were at night per Section 322.05(3), Florida Statutes.
  • Proof of Residential Address such as your home utility bill, cable bill, home telephone bill, etc. If your address has changed from the address on your learners permit, you must complete and have notarized this Certification of Address form.
  • Note: Cantor's Driving School is a notary public and provides free notary services for customers.
Over 18, With Cantor's Instructor Over 18, With Other Adult
If you are over 18 years old , you must bring all of the above items except the Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor.
If you are over 18 years old , you must bring all of the above items except the Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor.

The Florida DHSMV website provides a similar list of requirements and also offers an online service called Gather Go Get to assist you in creating your checklist of required information.


Vehicle Requirements for Driving Test

If using Cantor's Driving School Day-of-Test Service, you have no worries about the vehicle. If you are taking your test on your own, you must provide a vehicle for the driving test. The vehicle must:

  • Have a valid license plate
  • Have a valid vehicle registration
  • Have proof of valid Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability Insurance
  • Pass a vehicle safety inspection
  • Have operable seat belts


Driving Test - Customer Information Sheet - Critical Information!

View/download this Customer Information Sheet (PDF). This is provided to you on the day of your driving test, but you can review it in advance to make sure you are prepared. This is IMPORTANT! This is what you will be tested on.


Driving Test - Parking Question Tip

During every driving test, the examiner will ask questions related to parking your car on a hill. Study the section 5.31.1 about parking on hills in the Florida Driver Handbook online and this diagram. This is IMPORTANT and you will be asked about this!


Parking Diagram from Florida Driver Handbook

5.31.1 - Parking on Hills
When parking on hills: • Turn your wheels so that if your car starts to move, it will roll away from traffic or into the curb. Study the diagram provided. • Set the parking brake. • Place automatic gear shift in park. Shift manual gears to reverse (downhill) or first (uphill). • Turn vehicle off.


 

Driver's Test Centers

Broward County DHSMV Offices List

Palm Beach County DHSMV Offices List

DHSMV On-line Appointment Service and Information System (OASIS)

 

Florida Driver Handbook

Florida Driver Handbook
 

Cantor's Memberships & Partners

Cantor's Driving School is a Member of the Florida Professional Driving School Association.
Florida Professional Driving School Association Logo

Cantor's Driving School is a Member of the Driving School Association of the Americas, Inc.
The Driving School Association of the Americas


Cantor's Driving School is a Proud Partner of the Safe Teen Driving Club:
safe teen driving club



 

Cantor's Useful Links & Resources

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Florida Driver License Online Lookup System includes:
  • Driver License Check
  • Online Insurance Update
  • Driving School Eligibility Check
  • Social Security Number Update
  • Parental Access to Minor's Driving History
Traffic School Completion Online Lookup System

Florida Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements and Drivers License
Florida Drunk Driving Fines and Penalties
Find Your Teen a Safe Car
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
Student at the Wheel
Mapquest
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Philadelphia SEO, Internet Marketing and Local Search Optimization services
Web Design and Development

Cantor's Driving School Service Area





Driving Lessons covering all of Broward County:
Hollywood, Parkland, Sunrise, Davie, Weston, Plantation, Coconut Creek, Fort Lauderdale, Pembroke Pines, Coral Springs, Pompano Beach,
and
Palm Beach County:
Delray Beach, West Palm Beach, Royal Palm Beach, Palm Beach, Boynton Beach, Wellington, Palm Beach Gardens, Boca Raton, Lake Worth, Greenacres, Jupiter,
and
The Treasure Coast
including Martin County,
St. Lucie County and Indian River County.